top of page
  • missgallace

Miller, Quartararo and Gardner on being Superstitious in MotoGP

By Marcella Gallace

Photo Credit: Alex Farinelli

In Grand Prix motorcycle racing, we are given a short glimpse of riders as they jump from garage discussions to the back of their bike. A lot of their world is hidden behind closed garage doors, leathers and helmets.


And so too, are many of their superstitions.


Superstition is a very black and white subject that seems to have no in between. One is either completely dedicated to ritual or not.


While many riders attribute good results or circumstances to their superstitions. Others simply do not believe in the concept. Take Valentino Rossi for example who has proven that even after 23 years of Grand Prix racing, his pre-race ritual is unwavering. Yet, his very own countryman, Andrea Dovizioso steers away from superstition not wanting to attract the mind games.


In a sport where it is literally head down, bum up for 45 gruelling minutes - It’s hard to know whether a rider is superstitious or not due to little airtime of them away from racing.


So we’re about to give you some clues of where to look.


I dove into the intriguing topic with, Jack Miller, Fabio Quartararo and Remy Gardner in this exclusive interview to see where each rider sits on the superstitious-o-meter:


Jack Miller

Superstition is not Jack Miller’s thing.


He likes to change things up prior to each race and does not glue to a particular routine, saying: “I don’t really have any pre-race routines… I’m not a superstitious guy. I try to do a different thing every single time I ride.


“Prior to the race…within an hour, stretching, warming up, and trying to get myself in the most correct mind space.”


He trains consistently throughout the season, attributing “cycling and gym work” as key components to his physical and mental preparation for races.


If he had to put a percentage on riders who are superstitious in the paddock, he says: “I would give it a good 50 to 60 per cent.”


I wondered if maybe culture tended to influence this to some degree, and Miller agreed.


“For sure, the culture and stuff like that. The Spanish, the Europeans… I feel like they’re a little bit more, let’s say, inclined to be superstitious or… I don’t know if God-fearing is the word, it could almost sound like the correct one.”


While superstition may not be Miller’s thing, he did acknowledge he speaks to his bike during the race.


“For sure I talk to my bike…I ask it not to kill me!” he laughs. “Asking for a little bit more on the bad days and you know, saying thank you on the good days.


Wrapping up the interview, Miller amused in a question regarding the gender of his bike, letting out another laugh: “It’s hard to say if it’s a female or a male… it depends what tone I’m talking to it!”


Fabio Quartararo

Fabio Quartararo is one of the most superstitious guys on the track.


In fact, he ranked himself among the most superstitious MotoGP riders when I asked him for his ‘top three pick,’ saying, “I don’t know them all. But what I heard is, Valentino….he is really superstitious. I think Jorge Lorenzo and [then I would say] maybe me.”


Quartararo has some quirky little habits that all stem from being superstitious. His rituals kick into gear about 25 minutes before the race, starting with music. And almost all of them take place on the grid.


If you have ever caught him chewing gum, you’ve already picked up on one of them.


“I always take chew gum with me, [I] always take gel. And I always put my left glove [on] before my right one.” The pre-race ritual doesn’t stop there for the Rookie. “Every time before the start, I always look two times my front wheel,” he says.


“After this, is okay,” Quartararo says.


While some of his superstitions date back almost 10 years, some have been adopted more recently. One thing is for sure, they’re here to stay.


“The music start two or three years ago… the left gloves is from 10 years ago, and looking at my front wheel is from 10 years too. From when I was in the small categories. I always did this.”


Now that you know Quartararo’s pre-race routine, make sure to watch him closely on the grid to catch the Frenchman in action.


Remy Garner

Race ritual is not uncommon in the Gardner family.


Red nickers are the go to for Remy Gardner, who sports a pair for every race. His father, Wayne Gardner was similar during his Grand Prix days and would wear, “the same t-shirt and socks on race day.”


You could say the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.


It is a trait seen among many athletes – the lucky piece of clothing. An item that breathes an important role to the athlete because it is often attached to a pinnacle moment in that individual’s career, and will remain significant.


“I always wear red underwear on race day, just because the first time I got my podium when I was young I had red underwear on that day,” Remy says.


It all comes down to routine with Remy who attributes that he is only “a little superstitious.” But also doubts that there isn’t a rider that is not a pinch so.


Ritual comes down to the T with Remy who always eats “a plate of white pasta and chicken exactly two hours before the race.” Afterward, slipping into race mode by preparing his body and mind with 30 minutes of stretch time.


Just minutes before the race, you can catch a Remy routine where he will stretch his “hands on the tank of the bike before riding off.”


“[It’s a] get me in the mode thing,” Remy describes.


This interview was originally published in October 2019 at motogp.com.au.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page