top of page
  • missgallace

Q&A: Luca Marini on being a Rookie in MotoGP

By Marcella Gallace

Photo credit: skyracingteamvr46 & milagro

In 2021, Luca Marini makes his debut as a MotoGP rider. The 23-year-old enters the big league off the back of his best season in Moto2, finishing the 2020 Moto2 season as the championship runner up.


His racing career in MotoGP spans back to 2013, scoring a wildcard in Moto3. But it wasn't until 2016 that the youngster was signed to compete full-time. which was in the Moto2 class.


Two years later in 2018, Marini was signed to Sky Racing Team VR46, where he remained until he moved up to the MotoGP class.


I chat with Marini about what it's like being a rookie in the MotoGP class:


You excitingly enter 2021 as one of the rookies in the MotoGP class – what are some of the advantages and disadvantages of being a rookie?


2021 it will be my first year in the top class. It is a big result for me and for Sky Racing Team VR46 considering we are working together since 2018. Thanks to the agreement with Esponsorama and Ducati I will able to make my debut in Motogp. So I will be a rookie, is not easy to say about advantages and disadvantages but for sure I. have a lot of things to do, learn and improve. And a just want to enjoy this time – one of the most important in my life as a rider and a man.


What is the most challenging part of moving up a class?


After the first day – shakedown test in Doha – I can say that Ducati is really powerful but what has impressed me was the braking. With carbon disc I need to change a bit my style on the front brake. And then a MotoGP bike is big but at the same time I’m one of the tallest in the paddock so for sure we need to fix some details as seat, handlebars etc.


What is it about the MotoGP bike that you most enjoy compared to the Moto2 bike?


I was expecting a lot of power – but braking is something impressive.


Bigger and heavier bike, meaning a lot more energy goes into riding the bike for extended periods of time. Are there specific areas of fitness you have focused on, or changed in particular to adapt to the MotoGP bike?


Together with Carlo (VR46 Riders Academy trainer) I have done a lot in the off season for being ready and I can say that after the first day I’m ok and I’m really happy about this.


Unlike many other sports such as soccer or basketball, where athletes can essentially train and improve their skills at any given time - in motorsport you are limited to track test days – how challenging is this ‘limitation’ when you move up a class and are on a new and bigger bike?


Considering Covid pandemic, we had a lot of restrictions in this 2021 pre-season, but I’m lucky because thanks to the VR46 Riders Academy and Ducati I was able to do a lot of Motorsport activities as cross, flat, minibike and extra testing sessions in Portimao and Jerez.


You have shared some great moments at the Tavullia Ranch racing against your brother, Valentino Rossi, this finally extends to the MotoGP track – is this a moment you have been looking forward to?


Racing against Vale in MotoGP is the dream of the 99% of the young riders in the paddock – so I’m lucky and proud about this.



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page